Voice Overs

Guardian

I've never done a voice over before, and just did a 'demo' for a friend from work..anyone mind listening to one or 2 of the thingies, and seeing if it sounds 'ok' ?

I produced/directed, recorded, mixed, etc...

That's the first one we did..I told her to 'whore it up' :)

So I figured 2 'sexy' ones, and then something more ad oriented

We did 2 others, a public service announcement type, and another straight out 'ad'...

Anyone familiar in this field have any comments? Im not 100% sure about the music rights, but someone told me it shouldn't be a problem for a demo..

Thanks,
--Sal

I started in radio in 1987 and now I'm self employed, doing voice overs (read: desperately seeking work!) I've been fortunate to hear, learn and work with some amazing voice talent. But I'll be the first to say I'm no expert. That being said, here we go:

This is aimed at the voice talent but producers need to listen for all of these elements, too!

1.) Black Opal: The open and general delivery is great but the word "beautiful" is stressed in a way that screams "I NEVER DID THIS BEFORE!" Its fun to try out "sexy, sophisticated reads" but the bulk of voice-over work is not like that - its just straight, natural reading. Get that down first, then move on to sounding sexy, cute and cuddly.

2.) Revlon: Same thing. The open sounds good but the "naughty" girl act sounds like just that - an act. If you think of Voice Overs like acting, you'll begin to understand why James Earl Jones does what he does and Jeff Goldblum does what he does... Its called range. Exploring it is fine but understanding it is crucial. You never hear James Earl Jones doing screaming car dealer ads do you?