Voice Over preamp

Dannyg2

I have started doing voice overs and I am very new to the industry and recording. I have started my set-up with a MBOX2, ProTools LE 7, and a AKG 451 mic. (The MBOX was a recommendation) All this is connected to my G4 Mac.

Everything works well but I'm not getting the depth to my voice that we get when recording in a commercial studio. Granted, the caliber of the equipment in the commercial studio is far superior to my small set-up (except for the mic, it is the same). Someone told me I should try a quality preamp between the mic and the MBOX. Is it possible to get a good one for under $500?

The good news is that this is strictly for voice over, I don't have to worry about singing vocals or musical instruments.

Does anyone have any suggestions or preamp recommendations?

I don't think its going to do much. Might just be a question of playing around with the eq. Maybe its just the mic that isnt cutting it for you, I havent heard that mic so i wouldnt know. By depth, do you mean fullness?

It could also be your monitoring source. In a commercial studio they usually pump the monitors and that makes everything sound tight.

451 is a small condenser best suited for overheads, ac guit, percussion. Get yourself a medium or large diaphragm (endless list...Cad m179, AT 4040 or better, SP C3, Rode,etc) or an industry standard for voice like a RE 20 or sm7.

I think a better preamp probably would help, but a different mic might help as much or more. Just because they use that mic in a voiceover studio doesn't mean it's the right mic *for you*. It might take a different mic to get your voice to sound the way you want it to.

Find music store in your area (if possible) where they have a mic display that you can go from mic to mic and hear how it sounds on your voice.