vocal style/mic choice

altcountry

Why would someone start their thread with "newbie here!" when our questions usually speak for ourselves?--

Does vocal style have much influence on mic choice? For example, I have a deep voice with not much range (if I had a nickel for everytime someone said, "you sound just like Johnny Cash", I'd have at least ten bucks) should I be looking at condenser mics, large diaphragm, etc., or what??? Anything out there for under 200$ for a first time set-up?? Thanks in advance.

if you have a deep voice then the rode nt1-a would be a good choice for 200$US . Due to its high boost it sounds so rich for men's voice. the only problem is sibilence so you'll need a de-esser.

I personnaly just bought an AKG C2000B. I thought at first that it sounded rich ( i tested it at the store) But when I compared it to my friend's NT1 I freaked out... The nt1 sounds so good. but i don't have any sibilence problence with my C2000b.

Thierry

If you have to start with "ONE" vocal mic, I would have to recommend the EV RE-20. It's one of the ultimate "multi-purpose" mics out there, and amazingly good on the "big-voiced" population.

On top of that, if you're not in the best room, it will probably serve you better than most condenser mics (it's a dynamic)...

At least try the beast...

John Scrip - www.massivemastering.com

An RE-20 or a Shure SM-7 (NOT a 57). These are radio DJ mics. They imart that deep "radio" voice. Great mics.

lapieuvre said:
if you have a deep voice then the rode nt1-a would be a good choice for 200$US . Due to its high boost it sounds so rich for men's voice. the only problem is sibilence so you'll need a de-esser.

I personnaly just bought an AKG C2000B. I thought at first that it sounded rich ( i tested it at the store) But when I compared it to my friend's NT1 I freaked out... The nt1 sounds so good. but i don't have any sibilence problence with my C2000b.

Thierry