Vocal Effects??????

Sirflex10

If you haven't read any of my other post..than yuor not aware that I'm an idiot noob beginner (o.k. now that that's out of the way) Are there any websites that give tutorials on different effects that you can place on vocals..ex: stacking voice to make it sound fuller, when & what should i pan , how and when to use reverb, chorus, etc. Please if anyone knows any good tips or tutorials let me know, I'm mainly creating hip hop, funk, r&b, type music via cakewalk. Thanks a trillion

I'm not sure of any tutorials but one of the best ways to learn is to double or triple track your vocal and try a few things out.
Experiment with slight panning, wide panning, try different types of delay, chorus etc.

As far as when to pan and when to use reverb etc. I will tell you the Golden Rule of recording: "WHATEVER SOUNDS GOOD!" Let your ears be your guide and train your ears to know what is good and what is not. The only way to do this is to experiment.

I don't know if you are recording digitally(via computer), but if you are you can experiment to your hearts delight without changing a single thing in your file.

In a nutshell: duplicating your vocals will make them louder and sound fuller, but it still has to be a good vocal to begin with. If you think the vocal volume is too weak doubletrack it, see if that does the trick. If not triple it.

Reverb - Probably the most overused vocal effect, and with good reason. Don't drench your vocals in reverb though. Nobody wants to hear a vocalist singing in a cave for 3 + minutes. Play with the controls and start out light with different decay times, etc.

Panning - can be used for effect, but 98.6% of the time your vocals should be dead center. The center range grounds the song. Instruments should be panned depending on your ears.