Vocal effects Q's

ignition451

Hello everyone. I'm kinda new to PC recording, and with the tips I've learned on this board I'm quite happy with the results.You guys are very helpful.

But to my question...

I'm using Cool edit pro to record and the music is sounding pretty good and I'm ready to do vocals, But I want to use real time effects like compression,reverb,delay etc. I'm on a tight budget and was looking into a digitech 300 vocal effects processor to get the job done. But can I run Phantom Power to it for my condensor mic? Any input would be greatly appreciated.

Mic----->Pedal----->Mixer---->PC

Welcome to the Forum,
Digitech 300 vocal effects processor is a good unit basically for live performances, so I am not sure if they have phantom for condenser mics. Another important specs you need to know is that it can only go upto 44.1Khz sample rate, so if you want to go any further you can't use it. Since you are in a tight budget, my suggestion is to get a preamp for your mic and use the cooledit effets in your tracks, CEP plugins and effects are as good as the regular hardware effects systems, so try them first and then go for teh big stuff. good Luck!

Thanks for the input. I'm currently using a Yamaha MG12/4 mixer for my preamp and it supplies phantom power. Cool edit pro does offer some good effects but I kinda need effects during the recording process (for instance some compression during the recording).

So do you think I can use the phantom power from my mixer into the digitech 300?

Sorry if I'm beatin a dead horse here.

Yo Sparks 451:

You might want to consider this if you need compression.

Run your mic from your board into an RNC [175 pezzutos @ Humbuckler & no shipping.] I'm assuming you have Phantom power on the board if the mic needs it.