Virtual Instrument Questions

sonicpsyops

Culture Of Convenience
Hello all,
I've been working with hardware synths for the past 16 years and I've recently decided to crossover into the soft synth world.

I compose orchestral music. I would really like to explore the world of Virtual Instruments but I don't know exactly what I need.

What I think I need is a computer with a powerful CPU and a lot of RAM, right?

I need a MIDI controller right? Can I use my Korg Triton as a MIDI controller or will I have to get a dedicated MIDI controller?

I imagine that I'm going to need some kind of interface, but which one? does it matter which one if I'm working with Virtual Instruments?

Some sequencing software would be in order too I suppose. Which one works best with Virtual Instruments?

They may be a little pricey but I've been looking at the Creation Station over at sweetwater.com. It's basically a custom made computer designed for recording artists. It's looking attractive to me because it seems to be user friendly and it's a PC. Nothing against Macs, I'm just more familiar with PC's. Anybody have any experience with these Creation Stations?

Any suggestions for sample libraries?

I have about a $5,000 to $6,000 budget. Would this at least get me started?

I know I have a lot of questions but I’m virtually blind in the Virtual Instrument world. Any guidance would be greatly appreciated

There are way better options than Creation Stations:
http://www.adkproaudio.com/compete.cfm

Ram, CPU, hard drive... its all important with virtual instruments. For Orchestral work, look at (and listen to the samples from) Garritan, Vienna, and East West. Depending on your budget, any of these may meet your needs. Cubase and Sonar are both string with MIDI and working with virtual instruments. And your Triton will function just fine as a controller.