Vintage Trem And Floyd Lock Nut

mike2731

I'm putting together another project, and I have a body and Fender vintage 6 screw trem on it. I have a nice Warmoth Strat neck I'd like to use, but it's cut for a floyd locking nut. Would I be better off:

a: finding a standard nut that replaces the floyd nut (I've found ebanol nuts with a metal base, but I'm not familiar with how these work...I assume they would mount like a Floyd nut)

b: just use the floyd lock nut without the top locking part

c: get myself a neck with a standard nut

Obviously, I don't want to go with option "c" unless absolutely necessary. I'm just not sure what would be best. It seems like the floyd nut without the locks on it should work fine with the vintage trem, but I'm not very experienced in these bridges, and thought I better seek out some info. Thanks!

Mike

mike2731 said:
I'm putting together another project, and I have a body and Fender vintage 6 screw trem on it. I have a nice Warmoth Strat neck I'd like to use, but it's cut for a floyd locking nut. Would I be better off:

a: finding a standard nut that replaces the floyd nut (I've found ebanol nuts with a metal base, but I'm not familiar with how these work...I assume they would mount like a Floyd nut)

b: just use the floyd lock nut without the top locking part

c: get myself a neck with a standard nut

Obviously, I don't want to go with option "c" unless absolutely necessary. I'm just not sure what would be best. It seems like the floyd nut without the locks on it should work fine with the vintage trem, but I'm not very experienced in these bridges, and thought I better seek out some info. Thanks!

Mike