VERY green to the tech side of music, want to get good sound (FB Live, PC recording)

hotwired99

Good Afternoon,

I'm just getting into the "solo acoustic" stuff, being my "second act" upon semi retirement. With the quarantine, I'm trying to do some FB Live stuff as well as creating and posting cover songs on YouTube. I am woefully ignorant in the tech side of music. I know how to play, sort of know how to sing (haha), but I'm the farthest thing from a tone snob and barely even know what a DAW is.

I have a soundcraft notepad (two actually 8fx and 12fx). I go OUT of the headphone out INTO the line in of my PC and that seems to do the trick BUT I have to be careful not to be too high, it's touchy. I can record that way using my simple windows 10 supplied webcam camera app and it's not horrible, and at least I have some effects. Sometimes the guitar sound is not great though. It's a Taylor 314CE but older, not the expression system.

I did a couple of concerts for the Social Distancing Tour of our local radio station but that was literally 2 iphones open broadcasting to two FB Live feeds (2 radio stations FB pages). 100% unplugged. I'm not thrilled with the sound but honestly, when I try to do Live FB using the above PC setup I described it's not great either. Not bad, but not great.

I tried to hook the board up to my samsung S8 using OTG adaptor (came out the soundcrafts's USB out into the OTG adaptor, into the usb port of phone. Nothing but super loud static, even turned down). So going from board to phone ... not there yet at all. I'm going to try my Zoom H4n as intermediary tomorrow after the concert (in case I mess up my phone). I can go from the headphone out of the mixer, to the mic input of the H4N to my LAPTOP via USB to FB live and it's NOT bad, so that's a possibility. But why can't I just go from board to laptop?? Strange.