Using noisegates when recording drums on separate mics?

Emusic

Hi. I'm pretty new to recording. Brand new to recording drums. When you mic up every drum how do you go along to separate the sounds? Is it common to use noisegates on the separate channels?

As with every thing in recording "It all depends". With drums depending on the style you will find quickly that you don't want to totally isolate every drum. Some bleed is good. I like to think of it as the glue that holds the kit together. With that said, I do alot of metal so I end up normally gating my snare, toms and kick. I prefer using an Expander though because its more musical for drums. Expansion doesn't totally cut the signal below the threshold but pushes it down to whatever ratio you set. BTW....I gate/use expansion after tracking, not during. Normally I try to use mic placement to eliminate as much bleed as possible but some bleed is inevitable.

if gating at all I only do the kick and the snare. These days I use software gates, they can look ahead on the fly

yer if i gate at all its the kick and snare, but i tend not to, i often find that once the gate is set to cut out bleed, it effects the sound of some of the kick hits, causing them to stop to suddenly, which is why i prefer not to gate generally.

The only way I have found to stop the bleed is to use a program like Drumagog, but to me, it doesn't sound natural anymore. The bleed is what gives the drums depth in the mix. Take it out, you might as well be using a drum machine....

Try the gates on all your drum mics. Whichever channels work better in the mix with a gate, leave em. There is no right and wrong, just your way and my way:D