USB Microphones, just won't work

mustaeki

I have windows 7, a long time ago before I bought my previous mic, I remember buying a USB one first. I took it back because it was way too quiet, even at 100%, and since it is USB you can't use a DB boost.

I bought another USB today (A wireless, not like that really matters), a year after my last mic, a Logitech H800. Again, everything is way too quiet. I'm beginning to wonder if it's just something on my end. Both of these mics were Logitechs, and I'm just beginning to think that Logitech sucks a big one. Every support thing I've ever seen just says "Oh make sure you go into your Sound settings and put it up to the max"... I mean, don't you think everybody would have tried that?

Is there really anything else I can do to try and get this one working more efficiently? I am going back to return it and get a replacement one, but I'd rather just figure this one out before going through all of the trouble again if it is just my PC.

Edit: Tested in on a Laptop running Vista, the mic is just buggered I guess. Don't think I'll buy from Logitech ever again

If you want to do any serious recording, no, don't buy Logitech. With respect, they're better known for making keyboards and wireless mice. Any microphone they make will be aimed at gamers and people making Skype calls, not at proper recording.

Having said that, how are you judging that it's too low a level? The only real way is to feed it into your DAW and check the meters there. Going by ear can lead to wrong impressions.

Anyway, what are you hoping to do with the microphone? That's makes a huge difference in terms of what people will recommend--the best option for recording game commentary is very different than picking up the subtleties of an acoustic guitar. However, a word of warning--I doubt any suggested solutions will be anywhere near the Logitech price. "Real" mics cost real money.