USB interface questions

DreamlandNoise

So I've been recording since 1999 but have never bothered to make the switch to PC. I've used plenty of different portables (Akai, Tascam, Boss ..etc.. ) and in both analog and digital formats. I've used some PC software to finalize mixing and edit (Acid Pro, Reason, Cuebase, Soundbooth..etc..) and have even gone as far to record via the mic input one track at a time with tolerable results for the sake of experiment and drafting ideas. I'm ready to dump all the extra equipment and use my laptop exclusively but I'd like to be certain everything is going to work the way I want it too before I sell my portable BR-1200 and dump a bunch of money into a USB interface and possibly a control surface. So.. questions..

1.) I have a DELL 17r with an i5 processor, 8 gigs RAM. Are latency issues due to the PC or the interface (or both) and does this computer have the umph to deal with several tracks at the same time (say 4 max)? I have an Alesis keyboard controller for Propellerhead Reason and it is barely usable (a waste of 80 bucks) which is why I'm skeptical about buying any sort of interface equipment at all.

2.) Is there an affordable control surface (with faders and all that) that has an integrated USB audio interface for XLR inputs so I don't have to use two separate external devices?

I personally, would say forget the control surface/interface option. Just a interface is the only thing you really need. What it is you purchase, will be mostly based on how many inputs you wish to record at once. Read the sticky's on this forum. There is much more to learn by reading, than I could ever type here.

I would say that your PC should be just fine, as long as you optimize it for audio recording. Google would be your best friend here, though THIS is my favorite site to recommend. There are others, if W7 is not your current OS.

Always here to help. :)