USB interface, or USB Mixer?

ColdToTheTouch

Just bought an older MobilePRE USB interface. Figured it out pretty well. Im used to using portastudios, so this is my first time using a DAW. Well, this interface has alot of unwanted noise. messed with the buffer and latency settings, with not much improvement, but its time to upgrade and get alittle more serious. so I plan on buying a brand new interface, instead of a used one off EBAY. I like the feel of using a mixer, so I was just curious if anybody was interested in laying down a few pros and cons for me comparing an interface like the MBOX or a usb mixer like the Allen and Heath Zed 10 USB Mixer. Can you use the usb mixer the same way as an interface? im going to do some research as well, but id like to hear what you guys think. Ive been using Presonus StudioOne to lay down my tracks, and I do my mixing/mastering in FL Studio if that helps at all.. thanks everyone, sorry for being a pain in the ass

Unless you have a specific other use for a mixer, generally interface > mixer for recording.

That said, I hear good things about that particular brand. If you do get a mixer, check it allows direct outs for each in via the USB, not just a stereo out.

Why pay for a whole bunch of sliders and controls etc. that you're not going to use? Do the quality equation, especially if your mixer and proposed interface have the same number of inputs and are about the same cost.

I'd suggest the interface too,Armisice's right. Unless you're having another user for a mixer the interface is the choice to make!

Why is interface better than usb mixer? With mixer u can have effects added like reverb/delay. It's more versatile. There's no aux out on an interface.

Why is interface better than usb mixer? With mixer u can have effects added like reverb/delay. It's more versatile. There's no aux out on an interface.