Updating, need advice!

framos

Hey guys and gals:

I've been trying to learn home recording for a few months (I'm a drummer with a seven-piece Ludwig set) and I think I have the basics down. Now I want to expand my equipment.

Currently I have a Mac G4 running Cubase VST 32 v.5 which I plan to upgrade to SX.

I have a Delta 1010 audio interface and one Sm Pr8 Mic Pre-amp. (You'll begin to see where I made some bad choices in my equipment, but I was just starting out, remember).

A Nady seven piece mic pack, several boom stands, and a
Studio Projects C-1

Akai Deca Buddy and Pitch Right software.

A cheap VGA computer monitor.

A cheap acoustic guitar.

And a pair of Event TR8-N Tuned powered Reference monitors.

Now, here's the fun part. I blieve I can afford about $10,000 over the next year or so, upgrading my equipment. How should I spend it?

I know I have to buy mics. That's a given, considering my bad choices. (Although, I like the Studio Project mic). But should I spend some of the money on Shure M58s, 57s? In what combination should I purchasr this mics?
What about out board equipment. Do I really need a mixer since I'm planning to buy another Delta 1010 and increase my inputs to 16? (I don't do any midi work, at least not now, so I don't use the Delta's midi capabilities). An outboard mixer seems to be a waste since I use the Cubase mixer and can increase the number of inputs by increasing the number of Deltas and mic pre-amps.

What about Reason? Is it midi based or can I use some of its capabilities audio recording?

Here's another question. I've seen photos of home studios with dual computer monitors. How's it work and should I get those same capabilities too? I know that my computer screen is cluttered already. Will getting two monitors help?
What about mastering software. I don't know a great deal about masstering yet.