Uniform speed. vocals

robbyrobmusik

I am new to recording. I find sometimes my vocals are too fast for the beat or slow at certain parts. Is there i way I can fix this in my DAW or is this something i have to master performace wise?

as a musician you should always strive to master it in the performance. Don't rely on technology to do it for you...then you'll just turn into an Ashley Simpson and start lip syncing your songs on SNL and using Auto Tuner on all your CDs.

You just need to learn about basic rhythm.

Last edited:
Meanwhile, if you are using a computer and have enough time on your hands, you could always slide the vocals around to create any kind of timing you want. But yeah, it's sort of cheating... Think how much better you'd feel about yourself as a musician if you could actually perform it right.

On the other hand, some people involved in music production make no claim to being musicians themselves - and have no qualms about "cheating".

Robby, to be honest, you're not ready for the record button yet. Practice until you can nail the song in your sleep. Then you'll be ready to record. :)

G.

Sure, there doesn't necessarily need to be any talent whatsoever involved in creating music. You should be able to fix just about anything! ;)

:p

metalhead28 said:
Sure, there doesn't necessarily need to be any talent whatsoever involved in creating music. You should be able to fix just about anything! ;)

:p

If only I could give you positive rep points again. :)

(while the above post may be interpreted as a total dig at robbyrob....I didn't mean it that way. I just find it funny that people by default want to fix something with technology that only involves a modicum of talent) ;)

Thanks RAK ;)

EDIT: I have been waiting approximately 2 years to use the word "modicum" in a post. Kudos to me!

Last edited:
metalhead28 said: