Unfinished basement space for all-in-one studio room

Fab4ever

Getting better
Greetings all!

I am buying a house that has some unfinished basement space that I intend to use as a tracking-and-mixing recording room. It has concrete floor and currently two brick walls and no ceiling, just the beams from the first floor above.

I will get into the details of the room size, budget, etc. in a future post, but I wanted to start by asking those of you who have done this sort of work:

What are the most important things to do, in your view, to make a good sounding little space? That is, I assume I will be building walls and a ceiling. I have no construction experience, but I have two in-laws who do. But they have no recording or studio experience, so I need to tell them what I have in mind to help the room.

Some ideas I've read about so far:

* non-parallel walls
* making the walls separate from the existing brick walls
* perhaps sticking some of the standard fiberglass isolation (the fluffly pink stuff) in between the walls I build and the existing walls.
* a ceiling that isn't connected to the structure above it, but rather is connected to the walls. But what the ceiling should be made of I have no idea.
* I gather that "floating" the floor is impractical for me, given my lack of knowledge and a limited budget.

So, lemme have it. What should I be thinking about? How do I design or at least rough out my ideas so my brothers-in-law, who have built many standard walls and ceilings, will know what to do?

Greetings Fab4ever. Well, you have your work cut out for you. But at least you're smart enough to ask questions first...build later. In fact, there are TONS of questions to ask. I have no time tonight, but I'll return tomorrow to help point you in the right direction.