Tutorials

KevinTran

I'm new to Sonar and am going through the tutorials right now.

I have no MIDI equipment, but the first tutorial file uses a project with nothing but MIDI files. I don't get any playback. I have the Audiophile 2496 and the OUTS on each track are set to

1- Delta AP Midi

All the midi drivers are selected in the Options/Midi tab.

How do I listen to these midi tracks? I've got to missing something very simple.

kt

thanks

You mean you have no midi hardware (sound module, keyboard) connected to your Audiophile?

I believe the Audiophile doesn't have its own wavetables (the SBLive and Audigy cards have that, but most pro cards don't....it's audio only, and midi in/out), so without hardware modules you won't hear a thing...

Pedullist said:
You mean you have no midi hardware (sound module, keyboard) connected to your Audiophile?

I believe the Audiophile doesn't have its own wavetables (the SBLive and Audigy cards have that, but most pro cards don't....it's audio only, and midi in/out), so without hardware modules you won't hear a thing...

yea, ped. that's what i meant. no hardware.

ok...so i can't listen to the midi files then..that's cool. i'm just trying to learn all the buttons anyway.

thanks. kt

Beltrom said:
Don't Sonar come with a few mididriven software synths?

Under the Midi Option...there's MIcrosoft Midi mapper....

is that the same thing? when i select it, i get a message saying i haven't selected a midi output or somthin like that.

Ped,

I'm seriously thinking about getting a cheap keyboard. I was eyeing a $200 Casio at GC yesterday.

kt

damn, i spending way too much lately.

You can use a DXi synth for the midi sounds. Sonar comes with the Virtual Sound Canvas, and also a demo version of Live Synth Pro.

However, you will have to modify the tutorials. First you need to set up a new audio track. Then in the FX bin, patch in the VSC DXi. Then route the midi tracks' output to the VSC.