Tuning Monitors-Pink Noise

Bones

Ahoy all,

I've been setting up my studio at home for nearly 2 years now and have just come accross a referance to useing "pink noise" to tune my monitors.

Sounds like a great idea, I have a spectrum analyser, good sound card and OK monitors but how do I create "pink noise" to do the test with? (or where can I find it?).

I found a definition. Pink noise "has a flat energy spectrum curve thoughout the audio range". This allows you to adjust your EQ to flatten the response of your monitors or fix problem frequencies in the control room.

All very informative, but entirely useless without some referance to how this noise is actually produced. White noise has an energy build up of 3Db (spl) per octave. This makes white noise useless as a referance point, 'cause all you'll get is massive high end.

Anyone know how to create Pink Noise or have a link to a .WAV file?

Regards

Bones

Cool Edit Pro will allow you to make Pink Noise, I would think other programs would too. Have you tried checking your DAW help files and "index"ing "NOISE"? If your program supports this, you should be able to create your own noise. :D

In case you can't, try using the file I'm "attaching." I haven't tried this before, but it should work, it's an MP3 of a 5 second pink noise. I made the channels independent (their own noise each side) and set it at an "intensity" of 12 (default), whatever that does. I couldn't send a WAV file... the maximum size for an attachment is 102 kb, so you get it in MP3 format. This may change how the frequency distribution sounds, so you may just want to use it as a "get familiar with pink noise" type of thing... Oh, yeah, sorry about 5 seconds, but there's a file restraint, so try just replicating it in your DAW.

The file is called... Pink Noise.MP3 (which is really weird, 'cuz we put up "Pink Floise" in the MP3 clinic recently... weird)

Attachments

• pink noise.mp3
    78.4 KB · Views: 73