Tuning an Istrument (Reason+Cubase)

TMS

Hi guys,

I would like to ask you a few question about tuning.
I will be using Cubase as my main project DAW with a touch of Reason.
I will be recording live instruments (guitar/bass) and DI instruments on Reason.

So,
How do I get them both in tune?
Which tuner I should refer to?

How about co-projects? How do you get the instruments in tune then?

Thank you ;)

All tuners are universal. Every tuner that you'll ever use will tune to the same frequency. As long as you use a decent tuner and tune with care, all the instruments you track with should play in tune, as well as any MIDI instruments - those are tuned to the same frequency as well.

Thank you for your reply!

Im a big noob :)

When I play along with the songs videos on Youtube I almost always will have to tune my inst to each song.
For example following song - two different tunings:

and

Buy a tuner, then use the tuner at all sessions as your tuning reference, rather than just tuning to "each other".
If you leave the tuner set to same concert pitch (standard is A 440 Hz)....you can record sessions that are weeks/months apart, and they should all be in tune.

Not everyone uses a tuner, and sometimes people will tune up/down intentionally....or sometimes the videos are just off because people messed something up during conversions, and the pitch was changed slightly.

Reactions: TMS