tube combo opinions

mojovoodoo

i am sure this has been done over and over, i was just wondering about everybody's thoughts on mid level tube combo amps, like the price range from about $300 to $500. i am trying to look at all of my options for my next purchase (i know the budget ain't much, but i am a poor working musician) i definitely know what i like, and what i like is way out of my price range. i personally do like the way a bassman or an old ampeg sounds, or the boutique small companies, like a buddah, or a badcat. but these are too expensive , and i notice that companies like traynor, crate, peavey, epiphone are putting out reasonably priced tube combos that look interesting enough. anyone have any personal experiences with these newer "wannabe boutique" tube combos? i mean, yeah, i am gonna go try out as much as i can, but still it's nice to hear other people's personal issues ahead of time, like if one amp falls apart after 3 months and so on. thanks for sharing :confused:

I've tested a traynor tube combo, not sure of the model but it was a 2/12. And I was quite impressed, it had a sharp chimelike mid when clean and still maintained that sweet moan when overdriven. It screamed tube quality yet still had a strong presence that would stand up well when recorded. You know yorkville amps are built like tanks so given the sweet tone and decent craftmanship I would consider a Yorkville first.

Traynor's 2x12 is the YCV80, and I've had one for about 3 years now. I absolutely love it. Great tone for a great price. Of course the price is $300 higher now than when I bought it, but it still gives the bigger name brands a run for their money and they're still cheaper. Definitely give one a try if you get a chance and see if you agree.