Tryin again - EQ and chunky sound

Bloomington

Ok my first 2 posts here do not show any message - I have terrible luck with anything to do with a computer so pleassssse bear with me!

Two questions:

1) I normally see people writing here that you should limit or avoid EQing during recording - save it for mixdown. I sometimes use a Mackie 1604 board for it's preamps (into a Roland 880EX) When using the Mackie board what do I do with the EQ on it. For the Low and High I guess it would make sense to set them to their midpoints or unity gain but how about the sweepable mid-range???

2) I have recorded drums, guitar, bass and keyboards ( I am really new to this) kind of 60's rock and roll. While it sounds OK all of the instruments seem to stick out (kind of "chunky" sounding)rather than blend together even with some reverb. Any general hints. I know trying to describe sound is diificult.

Thanks!!!!!!!! :)

Bloomington said:

1) I normally see people writing here that you should limit or avoid EQing during recording - save it for mixdown. I sometimes use a Mackie 1604 board for it's preamps (into a Roland 880EX) When using the Mackie board what do I do with the EQ on it.

Does this model mackie have a EQ disable switch? use it! If not, just leave everything at zero.

2) I have recorded drums, guitar, bass and keyboards ( I am really new to this) kind of 60's rock and roll. While it sounds OK all of the instruments seem to stick out (kind of "chunky" sounding)rather than blend together even with some reverb. Any general hints. I know trying to describe sound is diificult.

Thanks!!!!!!!! :)

play around with mic placement..and usually if the instruments sound "too chunky" to begin with..guess what?!!