Trouble getting intense toms...

jrhager84

expert newb
Just wondering what you guys typically use to EQ/Gate your toms. I don't want continuous bleed in my mics, but I don't want more dynamic notes to disappear under the gate. Just wondering what all of you guys do to control that... Thanks dudes,

-Joel

Do you mean you want the snap or click from your toms? Or alot of depth? I don't have mics for my toms, but seem to get some decent sounds from the, with just the OH's when compress properly.

I'm no expert, but with my toms and how they're tuned, I can get some pretty huge sounds out of them. If I want a bigger/boomier sound, I boost the low-mids about 3db, deep cut the mids, and put a medium Q boost wherever the stick attack is. It's almost the same kind of EQ you might apply to a modern-metal guitar tone. I'm not too sharp with gates, so I just turn knobs and push buttons until I get the results I want. Typically, I'll solo whichever tom I'm gating, and fiddle with the threshhold until it just blocks out the bleed, and opens up when the tom is hit. Then I'll adjust how long it stays open to gently shut again after the tom rings out. If you want punchier toms, just tweak the gate to slam shut sooner.

Of course, this could be all wrong and I'm just retarded, but it seems to work for me. :)

greg's given you some great advice. i gate my tom close mics, and while the settings differ from song to song, greg's detailed the "starting points" quite well. setting gates is a bit of an art and takes some practice. it's a lot like compression--easy to do poorly. ;)