Triangle Room Setup

maddrummer

Hey guys, So here's a pic of my room, sorry I'm not an artist. Curious to how you guys think I should set it up. I also have some 2" foam, I know it's not the best, but I just want to hear some thoughts. It's an apartment so I really can't do any kind of construction and don't have the cash to do it anyway. Thanks

Josh

PS this would mainly be used as a control room, not so much as a live room.

If by "gear" you mean speakers/mixer, etc, that's probably the worst place you could put it acoustically. Any time you fire a sound wave into a 90 degree corner (the one behind the "gear") you get a parallel reflection right back to you, no matter what angle you "fire" into that 90 degree corner. Try it on a pool table sometime -

Putting speakers on that long wall means you'll get early reflections right back to you from both speakers, unless you deaden ALL the walls in the room.

If you were to put the desk in the 90 degree corner, at a 45 degree angle to each wall of that corner, ("kitty-corner") and put absorbent (like 3-4" foam, or 2" rigid fiberglas insulation wrapped in cloth) across the rear of the desk (make a triangle of the corner, behind the desk) then put your speakers up against the foam and make an equilateral (60 degree) triangle of your head and the two speakers - you'll still need to absorb the long wall the same way, but only about the middle 2/3 of it.

Triangle suck for acoustics, so that's probably about the best you could hope for in that space.

I tried to mark your drawing up, but paint got wierd, maybe because the drawing was in black and white originally - this is what I meant, sorta... Steve

Attachments

• triangle room1.jpg
    triangle room1.jpg
    19.9 KB · Views: 238