Tracking/overdub mixes and getting into trouble

Chibi Nappa

I got myself into a bit of a situation. Wondering if anybody else runs into the same thing.

With instant mix recalls and saved scenes, it is really easy to find yourself building a mix as you go...especially when working around the schedule of an amateur band that might lay down some tracks and then not be back for 7 days.

In my case I pulled up some in-progress songs I've been tracking for the past 2 months or so. During the course of this project, I'd pull them up and fiddle around here and there because the project is fun to work on and the time off can be a long wait.

Today as I was listening, I began thinking to myself "I know these drums didn't sound bad before". So I tore the whole mix down. Yeah, they do sound good. But I was doing things to push stuff up for headphone volume, forgetting about it, focusing on guitar since that was my "new toy" in the mix, etc. Or more likely, I'd give the drums a "good mix" and since they were all that existed at the time, that mix would have no bearing on any real-world situation the song would find itself in later down the road. And then the guitars get recorded and the drums just don't work like they should...

The existing sounds are so important when we go to track new sounds, I'm glad I reset the mix before the next tracking session. But I could easily see myself forgetting to do that.

How about the rest of you? Ever get into recording trouble because you sort of started half-mixing before the project was done?

Or does anybody intentionally mix as they go and rely on that technique?