Tracking audio to Home VHS tapes

Evildick

I am curious about dubbing over home videos and adding custom dialogue to previously recorded VHS video. For the most part, it will consist of family reunions, birthdays, holidays and such and I was hoping to make it look a little more professional for distribution at a reunion.

I'm a complete amateur in terms of SMPTE time code and synching audio to video. I have no problem reading up on the subject, it's just a matter of where to begin and how much I could expect to invest in this endeavor. I think I'm pretty much set on the audio side of things, but the video baffles me. Details below.

Dedicated P4 1.8a DAW
2x 60GB HD's
Layla24 w/ breakout box
SONAR 1.3 (not XL)
Mackie 1402VLZ-Pro
2x SM-57
SM-58
Rode NTK

I know I can get a quality audio signal to tape, but starting out is a bitch. Any links or personal experiences would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

(I can spend about $1500 US on the video side if necessary)

Dick

Vegas software and an ATI All in Wonder video card should do the trick. Vegas does video editing and has multi track audio. I haven't used but I've heard good things.

I have the ATI Radeon 64DDR which has a SPDIF (RCA) style on the back and accepts video capture. I'll have to look into the All in Wonder card. I think it only adds the TV tuner. If I use this, will I be able to record over just the audio track on the VHS tape and leave the video as is? If so, this could be easier than I thought. Thanks Tex

If your video recorder has a SCART connector you could try buying a SCART cable- SCART plug on one end and multiple RCA plugs on the other end. The RCA plugs are marked for the various audio and video connections (inputs and outputs). Connect the audio ins and outs to your mixer and the video outs to your graphics card, or the co-ax connector to your TV card as you will need to monitor the video and you have recording capabilities for your VHS.