Track seperation/clarity?

drbabbers

All,

I am a newbie to the world of home recording, however I have been making gradual process with everything and secured a few good recordings.

My current problem is I believe with my track seperation. When my guitars/bass/drums/vocals are playing together, I struggle to hear individual parts and particularly melodies from the guitar and bass. Ill be honest and say that the mix is acceptable, but it could be a lot better!

On parts with just drums and bass for example it sounds very clear.. it is just when the guitars get involved.. I also loose a lot of the drum presence, especially when things get loud and 'full'.

Is there a recommended approach to dealing with this? Mixing technique? Mastering etc...?

Any help is much appreciated!
D

I just had a read through the sticky mixing thread and picked up some good tips:

Front to back: (Level)
Level gives an element of a mix it's own space. Compression on individual channels helps keep the level so that it doesn't disappear in the mix. A loud instrument will appear forward, or towards the front. A quiet instrument will appear to be back or further away.

Left to right: (Panning)
Panning allows you to give an element of the mix it's own space. For instance putting a guitar part hard right keeps it from washing out the vocal.

Up and down: (Frequency)
Frequency is the use of EQ to boost or cut frequencies that either muddy or clear the mix up. For instance 250Hz-700Hz are fairly muddy frequencies, and if you have too many instruments using this frequency range the mix could be muddy. Everything in an arrangement or mix should have it's own unique fundamental frequency space.

Far and near: (Spatial Perception)