Total N00B Question About Lap Tops

AGroove

Hello everyone,

I am in the market for a new lap top strictly for home recording and using tracks live. I have Roland TD30 drums and intend on using them for drum covers/home tracking. I was just wondering what my best option is between Apple or a PC. I really appreciate any help you can give.

Sincerely,
Andrew

Here's how someone explained it to me

You get more bang for your buck with a pc, a better spec etc
But many home recordists choose apple because on the whole the operating system and software tends to be more robust and more reliable
However I'm a beginner also and not an expert

The whole Apple/PC debate is a wash these days. Long ago, like 20 years, Apple would have been the chosen platform for the reasons Matt stated. That is no longer the case. Let your budget decide and have fun.

One advantage to a Mac - Boot Camp.

I need Mac software for many things, including but not limited to being a MFiT certified facility (requiring software that's provided to me by Apple and one can safely assume they aren't going to have a PC version anytime soon). There are also a lot of popular DAW programs out there that are only for the Mac.

That said - My main DAW has been Samplitude for quite a bunch of years now. And although they've tossed around the idea of going Mac also, that idea seems to have dried up. Still both my "main" computers here are Mac Mini units running Boot Camp. Kind of the best of both worlds. Typically, the "business" machine is always running OSX (with Windows as an alternate) and the "music" machine is always running Windows (with OSX as an alternate). I even run Synergy between the two platforms.

THAT said - Ain't no doubt... The bang-for-the-buck factor of a PC is nearly undeniable. And there are plenty of units out there that are stellar for around half the price of a MacBook Pro. With wider screens, full-function keyboards, etc.