Tonight, I'll Fly

Guitarer

This is a rough demo of a song I've been working on for over a year. My drummer learned it as he recorded, as we were stressed for time. I'd appreciate all constructive criticism of mix and recording, but I'm already aware some of the playing and singing is sup-par. This is my first attempt at doing drums.

I will upload to a higher quality site if anyone has any reccomendations. LightningMP3 hasn't been working for me.

www.myspace.com/vextransmission

Thanks for listening!

-Holden

The recording was not so great. I didn't concentrate on why...I kinda got distracted by the poor execution of parts.

Good:

arrangement of parts: breakdowns, changeups, a bridge...very promising.

Bad:

Melody strength in vox lacking...and it sounds like the lyric came first, and what melody there is was tailored to fit the lyric....which lends to both awkward phrasing and weak melody.

The tune sounds superficial...trying too hard to be epic and meaningful...especially the lead vox....I didn't listen to the words...just noted that the passion seemed forced, and whatever the message or emotion was, it was lost because of the poor performances, forced intensity, and awkwardness of the lyric.

Analysis: forget the recording quality and mixology: you need to develop a knack for inventing song in the reverse order you probably do now; and really really spend time practicing and playing your instruments to get some chops, and rehearsing material to a finer polish to make it worth recording in the first place. Then you can agonize over the recordings.

So, putting the horse in front of the cart: you need to develop a product worthy of the time and money spent on recording.