Thoughts on must have equipment??

Barry B

With regards to effects such as reverb/echo etc are they must have in a studio. If money was an option would you still put these units/packages at the top of your shopping list?

Ok I'm fairly new to the home recording process. I have vague ideas of what everything does and feel I can knock up some decent mixes.

I've over the years used other people's studios to mix my songs and have again over the years been given various bits of equipment to the point where I feel I'm open enough to start learning more and mixing stuff myself if only so that I can have a better idea of how to explain my concepts to a seasoned engineer and it appears to be working.

i've got amongst other things. A Hard Disc recorder which has various effects, reverb, echo, flange etc which I was using to track stuff on but I now use for vocals only. I also own a desk which has built in echo, reverb etc. I've tried and my friend who is pretty clued up on these things to get the desk effects to work and they don't. I've tried using an external effects unit I borrowed off a friend to work via the desk and that didn't work either.

I've made a few mixes via the desk and hard disc recorder. The vocals have various effects applied to them and the music (via the desk) doesn't. I think they sound alright and no one has mentioned ''hey where's the reverb on the guitar douchebag?!?!'' But I've been kind of used to just applying this stuff when at other people's studios and am wondering if its just me thinking I need to have this equipment because others have it or do I need to have this equipment?

I've got monitors on my list and was thinking should I would invest in a new desk and reverb unit after that?

Thoughts??