Thoughts on Cubase SX for Non-Tecnophile

rkellus

This post is a variation of one I posted elsewhere.

Are there any of you out there who are already using Cubase SX? If so what do you think of it? My VCR does not flash 12:00 but I am new to the art of computer recording. Do you think I would be better off buying Digi 001 with Pro Tools LE?

See, I began shopping around the internet today and discovered that the Digi 001 with Pro Tools LE runs roughly $799. Cubase SX runs around $599. Because Pro Tools LE is a "light" version of the Pro Tools HD, I give the advantage to Cubase SX. Critics so far have not had any cruel words for SX.

So I begin leaning heavy towards Cubase SX and then......

I realized I am still going to need a sound card with Cubase SX and that is when I stopped leaning in one direction (and am now "on the fence").

When I asked for a good sound card/interface a number of readers strongly suggested the Delta 1010. The rub is that the Delta 1010 runs roughly $599.

In essence, if went the SX and Delta 1010 route, I will spend roughly $1200 (versus $800 for Digi 01/Pro Tools LE). Now, if it is trully worth it, I am prepared to bite the bullet for quality. In all honesty, however, I have some reservations.

For starters, do I really need 10 out puts and 10 inputs? If I were to mic drums the answer would be "yes." I doubt I would. I do, however, need a light pipe or some way to move data to and from an ADAT.

Thus, the question of the hour becomes what about staying with Cubase but using a card comparable to Delta 66 ($299). This option would run me a total of about $900. Are there any readers out (especially veteran commentators) who would please chime in.

I feel like every time I use this BBS I get one step closer to being able to make clear choice.

SX is MOST EXCELLENT........!

Been using it for several weeks now -- I can't imagine how I got thru with using 5.1 VST.........

SX makes SO MUCH more sense.......