Thoughts on a Peavey Windsor Studio?

Racherik

Title pretty much says it all.

I'm looking for a low watt tube amp, and was wonder what any of the forum member's opinions of it are. I'd try and audition one myself, but there isn't a music store within 300 miles that carries one.

I've looked over a copy of the schematic. On paper at least it looks like it's a pretty typical tube amp design using two 12AX7 and a EL34.

I've done the classic google review search, but most of what I'm finding is negative opinions of people who I'm not convinced have a clue.

Thanks in advance.

Racherik

I'd try and audition one myself, but there isn't a music store within 300 miles that carries one.

I've done the classic google review search, but most of what I'm finding is negative opinions

Those 2 sentences would have the robot flapping it's arms yelling "WARNING! WARNING! DANGER WILL ROBINSON!"

B9-The-Robot-On-SciFi.net_.jpg

I have no experience whatsoever with that Peavey amp.

I may be able to extrapolate from other amps I have owned, which include...

A Peavey Bravo. Wonderful amp, one of those "shudda never sold it's," and

a Fender Super Champ XD- notable here because I bought it over the Vibro Champ XD because when I auditioned them both, the SCXD has less noise, which I attributed to it having two power amp tubes, not one (like the VCXD and the Peavey Windsor.) Other than that, no issues.