The OS Battle for DAWS

Pearldiver

Ok folks, pardon me if this thread exists elsewere, and moderators, if it does, redirect me and delete this thread if you wish...

I am a somewhat frustrated guitarist who's "been entering" the world of digital audio recording for about 2 years now, in other words, I haven't been too co-ordinated with my choices of gear - never have had a reliable stable system yet ;( Anyway, enough crying right?

Heres my question. My current setup is as follows:

PC Based system with:

ECS C7VMM Rev. 1.0 motherboard (socket A - AMD)
Athlon 1.7 gHz cpu
VIA VT8233A ATA133 chipset
686 Phoenix Bios
256 MB DDR RAM (high quality I'm told, not cheapo stuff)
HDD0 Maxtor ATA100 20gig OS drive
HDD1 Maxtor Diamond 8(9?) ATA133 40 gig DATA drive
MSI 48/16/48 CD Burner
GeForce 2 MGA200 AGP 32 MB video

Audio:
Delta 66 / PCI / 24bit/96khz audio system
Guillemot ISIS /PCI/ 16 bit/44.1 khz audio system

First off, I'm wondering:

1.) What is the best OS for recording audio. I own 98se, ME, and Win2KPro, but i do not own XP. MY delta has support for all, and my ISIS, well it's old, only supports up to ME. What audio apps, such as Cubase and Logic, etc. behave the most reliably under which OS's? any good matches you've made?

2.) How does a guy make sure his audio cards are not subject to IRQ sharing, as seen in ME?

3.) Are there any programs that actually TEST the integrity of your OS at a given moment?

4.) Is it better to use my faster drive strictly as an audio data drive, and leave the OS, and audio apps on the 20 gig ata100 (slower) drive?

Thanks

Pearldiver said:
1). What is the best OS for recording audio. I own 98se, ME, and Win2KPro, but i do not own XP. MY delta has support for all, and my ISIS, well it's old, only supports up to ME. What audio apps, such as Cubase and Logic, etc. behave the most reliably under which OS's? any good matches you've made?

Win2k, hands down.