The order of the signal chain?

NeuzGrouper

Wow, that sounds like some kinda cult or something. Anyway, this is toally ridiclulous question, I bet.

I have a Aark Direct Pro Q10, and it has (4) Mic pre's built into it. I need a compressor still, and, boy, do I have questions. The upper limit of my budget for this item is $200 (US) or so.

My questions are:

Since the Aark has Mic pre's, do I or don't I need a mic pre in an outboard compressor? (ie - Could it help at all if I say, reconfigured the signal chain?)

Should I get an all in one unit, and if so, what features are most important in one of those (de-esser, etc)

And lastly, I have seen a lot of really positive comments on here about the RNC unit. my first thought on that is "No low impedence inputs?!?!!?! Are you crazy?!?!?!" Is that a factor, or not?

Any input from the members of this community would be really appreciated. You guys are GREAT!

(Obviously, a complete Newbie)

G

If you want to use a compressor while tracking you will need an external preamp unless the Q10 has inserts.

The RNC does not have low imp because it is a line level compressor and not a mic preamp. You need a preamp before running a mic into a line level device.

The rest of your questions are pretty much a matter of opinion.

Defending the RNC

Low impedance inputs are generally not a good thing in your audio gear, with a few exceptions, such a mic preamps (and even there, "low" is relative ... compared to the impedance of a speaker they're darn high).

OK, Cool. The Q10 will allow me to route the outputs on the back as inserts, so I COULD use it, but in general, Iif I can avoid it, I should stay away from low z ("z "= impedance, right? No comment on this, I will take as a "Yes"). Got it.

The opinions are where it gets sticky, doesn't it? That is a big part of why I come here, to be honest. The opinions here are educated ones Mine, well...isn't.