the opus - walk in the sun

shadowfax

hey guys. this is my friend's band recording in my basement on the gear i bought this summer. there are a couple blatant mistakes like rough transitions from part to part, the wierd change in terms of the guitar sound from the first part to the fast part, etc, but hey! it's my first recording/production/mix and i dont think it's that terrible for a bunch of 18 year olds to have done on their own.
indeed, i am a complete newbie. so, aside from those blatant mistakes (which have to do with tracking moreso than anything i can change right now) please give me advice on things to change to make it sound better; my ears are not very well developed for this sort of thing.

this was tracked with:

sennheiser md441u
mxl603s
sm57
d112

to..

mackie cr1606 / m audio dmp3

to..

cooledit

and mixed on..

yorkville ysm1p

enjoy! (hopefully)

http://www.nowhereradio.com/artists/?aid=2030/singles

P.S. since i'm totally inept in this respect, i didn't apply any EQ. i expect there will be a fair amount of criticism concerning that... in fact i'm depending on it to improve the mix.

Not bad for your earliest recording. I find the sound to be kinda muffled. That's the EQ thing you mentioned. It could use a small boost in the highs....maybe around 3k and again at about 10 or 12k. Just something to try. I like the song...is this yours? It has a Pink Floyd vibe. I'm a big Floyd fan so I'm gonna be embarrassed if it turns out to be one of theirs. :)
I really like the vibe and the performance isn't bad. I hear the awkward places you mentioned but so what? That's what time and practice fix. Who's singing?

I definitely think there is some potential here and for your first offering this isn't bad at all. I look forward to hearing what you're doing after a year of hanging around here. ;)