The Mixing Process

dremits

Hi,

I'm just starting out in mixing so I'm mixing a few projects I found on the internet (would love to know where to get more raw wav tracks that need work on actually if anyone knows any links) and i'm just wondering what is the best order of doing things is? Balancing and automation first or dynamic processing before? Or perhaps it doesn't matter?

Just wondering, thanks.

Hey dude...
Welcome.

I dunno about an order of things. There probably is but I just do things the way my work flow has brought me.

After I get my instruments tracked, I'll usually solo the drums and bass and tweak those first. Getting the bass and kick to play well together. I don't remember frequencies cuz I just cut til it sounds right but...I'll start with subtractive EQ over additive EQ every time.

As far as EQ or compression first....I dunno. It depends on the material. Try it both ways.

Next I'll bring the rhythm section in. If it's distorted guitars, I'll usually hipass at around 100 to 150 hz so the bottom end doesn't get muddy. In fact, I hipass alot of the instuments to keep the mud from building up.

Last comes the vocals. These I just play around with til they sit in the mix, usually a hipass at around 100hz, some light compression.

Automation is usually the very last thing I do.
After I get the whole song goin with all the parts in. I'll usually tweak the EQ and compression a bit more cuz
it's about how it sits in the mix...NOT how it sounds solo'd.
Then I'll ride the faders with automation on and make a few passes til I find the ebb n flow I'm lookin for.

I don't have it down to a science but so far, this is workin for me.

Luck man...
Kel