The Future of distortion?

Hey all, first off, I'm a drummer who dabbles with guitars....bad combo, I know. I've played for about 20 years now and have noticed a few things.

Anyway my guitar player and I were playing around for two hours the other day with distortion patches on my POD (which he really likes) and got me wondering what the future of distortion could possibly sound like? Mesas amps seem to me to be the only real advance in the past 20 years on what a unique, distinguishable distortion sound is to me as a layman in distortion. Although after hearing the amps of Killswitch Engage sounded really full but that's with the help of uber-high end audiophile mastering compression. What will distortion possibly sound like in 20 years from now? Will someone create the ultimate distortion that will make you cry once you hear it and make you want to quit playing guitar...and we won't even need singers or bassist and drummers...just pure guitar distortion? How can this sound possibly be refined further with all the "gee whiz" gear available today? Is it just me or are the most sought-after "perfect distortions" mostly swayed by what is commercially heard on recordings by great players? Everytime I hear a guitarist point out a tone they like, they always compare it to someone else bigger than them. What's the future hold? I just don't get it...this whole distortion business. Now I can tell between a crappy (high end crackly) distortion a great distortion (recto) but besides that, guitarists never seem to be at a middle ground with bands when trying to find "that sound". Seems rather silly to me to focus on what amounts to a simple effect rather than performance...

I mean I play drums too primarily and as long as we hear boom, boom and click click, we're happy. Why are guitarists so darn picky about sound that is well....purposefully messed up to begin with? Isn't that the point of distortion?