that Led Zeppelin sound

chilled

I am a relatively new drummer and I just wanted to know from the more experienced players out there any ideas on getting that tone bonzo used to get (eg snare type and mic placement) It seems to be pretty elusive to everyone I ask.

I believe Zeppelin got their famous huge drum sound by placing the drums in a large and empty room with the wall behind the drums. They used 2 room mics infront of the kit and a blanket/rug hung on the opposite wall to prevent reflections... Also you must keep in mind that Bonham had HUGE drums, please correct me if I'm wrong...

Get yourself a set of Roland electronic drums.
From the basic "trap set" to the "V Pro"... you'll get all the sounds you could ever want.
If you already have a drum set you like, check out the Roland AT-5 Acoustic Trigger system. It hooks right up to your existing set and will give you the "Bonzo" sound you're looking for. It costs less than $400, and will give you a huge selection of drum kits to choose from.

Yeah, Bonham used big ass drums...
and he hit them HARD!

Get a deep snare drum and some barbells.

A few years back, Modern Drummer magazine had Ludwig build an exact replica of Bonzo's kit and had a drawing to give it away. All you had to do was send in a postcard with your info on it. You could enter as many times as you wanted. I damn near broke my hand filling out a gazillion and a half postcards. I didn't win. I am not even a drummer.

I do beleieve another important fact is that he did not muffle his bass drum and his drums were tuned to perfection.

Yeah, Bonham did use big drums and they were tuned quite well, but I hae noticed that you can get a similar sound by relying mainly on the room sound. I mean, no one can match Bonham but this would be a good start.