Tascam US-122 - do i need monitors?

dekodesigner

Hi there.

I'm pretty new to creating my home studio, and my first step was the MXL 990 and a Tascam us-122.

The first problem I have come across is as follows:

I have set up the us-122 correctly, signal is being received and processed, and I can hear the saved files using Windows media player.

But when I use a piece of software to record, such as reason, cubasis or acoustica mp3, there is no sound output at all?

I am wondering if I need to buy some monitors fo the US-122 as it acts as a stand alone sound card - and that is why I hear nothing from my Realtek soundcard with 2 standard desktop speakers when recording.

Am I correct?

If so, what monitors would you suggest?

If i'm wrong, do you know what could be the cause of my problem?

Any help would be highly appreciated!

thankyou, James.

You must choose the us-122 as the soundcard to use in both the "Microsofts Windows" sound properties and "Cubasis" (or whatever recording software you use).
Also...you must have your speakers pluged into the us-122's "outs".
(you might need a special adapter from radioshack to make it work) :D

Well, I have chosen it as a sound card in both Windows and Cubasis. I just haven't got the speakers attached the the US-122 line outs.

If I am to plug my desktop speakers into the US-122, will every piece of sound direct through them, for instance if I play an mp3?

Well at least I know what my problem is now, I think my best option is to buy a cheap pair of high spec monitors.

any suggestions?

Yes, you can connect your computer speakers to the US-122 and use it as your recording and playback soundcard. Chances are, it will sound better than your onboard soundcard anyway, and you'll save processing by not running 2 cards simultaneously.

For cheap monitors: Check the M-Audio BX5a, KRK Rokkit 5, and the Wharfedale Diamond Pro 8.2a.

Monitors