TASCAM m216 help please!!!

adjogi

Ok i just bought an m216 mixer on ebay that was advertised in "great condition"......looks like i got the shaft.....as soon as you turn up the master faders (both left and right) a really really loud hum comes out...also when i try to plug in headphones it crackles louder than damnation itself!!!

Does anyone have any ideas how to remedy this at all? suggestions? i am a musician but not a techie...however i don't mind giving something a try if its straightforward.

Appreciate any help in advance

Cheers!

The loud hum could just be an earth loop or an open signal source, don't panic yet.

What crackles when you plug in the headphones? the Headphones? or the speakers?

We need more information to help you, how is it plugged in, plugged into what? are you using the XLR balanced cables or unbalanced jacks or RCA plugs?

Cheers

Alan.

Thank you for responding Alan!

First off the headphones......as soon as i plug the headphones (with nothing else plugged into or out of the board) in it is the headphones themselves that crackle.(incredibly loudly) On a second attempt i notice then when i move or wiggle the headphone jack around i can find a "spot" where they do not crackle so it makes me think that there is a loose connection somewhere inside the mixer.

Now the main L and R faders.....i have NOTHING plugged into the board. I put 2 XLR mic cables into the stereo XLR outs of the m216 and plugged them into my M audio powered monitors and all i got when i pushed up the level on the faders was a very loud buzz/hum.

The power cord is just a 2 prong cord....would this have anything to do with that? pardon my ignorance but as i said i am not a techie!

Now i also plugged a 57 into one of the channels and bussed that thru one of the bus channels into a protools input and didn't get any problems (although if i pushed the signal too much a got a slight hum which ideally i would like not to have).....

let me know if this helps!

cheers

Adam