Switching to PC recording???

Status
Not open for further replies.

TMatt142

I've been recording now for a little over 2 years with a BR1180-CD (Boss). A close friend of mine has a version (older I'm sure) of Cakewalk, I think its "Guitar Tracks 1 or 2". I believe he has the better system, but my reservation is in his sound quality. The CD's I've recorded have absolutely no background noise, His have a noticeable hiss. What I want to find out is, is it his software, soundcard, or both? I would like to sell my BR and move to the PC side of recording, not only because from what it sounds, its a simpler platform, but pulling my portable recorder in and out of its box is getting real old and the drum machine, though great sounding, is very limited. Any suggestions would GREATLY be appreciated (before I start recording again!)

His background hiss could be a multitude of things. Probably his mixer, if he's using one. Next would be the card itself. A lot of cheaper cards (sblive) will default to having the MIDI channel turned up and on, and I have heard tons of noise from this.

First and foremost, regardless of what DAW software you choose, get a GOOD soundcard. I don't know what kind of budget you have, but the Delta 1010 series sounds great (just don't use it at 44.1...48 works best). If you have some more money, I'd recommend going with an RME card. Great quality, if not the best. If you need 8 balanced I/O with mic pres, go for the Presonis firewire audio units. There all pretty good, and hands down, all of them beat tape by long shot! Once I got away from tape, I wondered how I ever put up with it.

Also, get a good sample playback program (Battery or Kontakt2), and a M-Audio Trigger Finger, and the world will be your oyster.