Swapping tubes

brendandwyer

We swapped out the tubes in our two bellari rp220's last night with EI Elite 12ax7ln tubes. We did a test run using two Rode Nt3's in xy over the drum set. Then changed tubes and ran the recorder again.

We have two Rp220's one of the first "editions" from whenever they came out, and a brand new one bought last week.

Now i'm no expert i just know what i hear. On the first test of each preamp, i found that the older rp220 had more mellow highs, sort of lame middle but a decent low end. Made the kick drum sound full, but with a lot of attack, the toms were a bit flat, but the cymbals seemed nice and mellow.

The new model was much more even across the kit. The kick drum had less of an attack but a rounder sound. more pleasing. The toms had more life and the cymbals seemed the same if not a little more brittle.

We swapped out the tubes in each with the Ei's and tested again.

The older model actually brightened up a little bit and lost some of the attack on the kick. The toms actually seemed more alive.

The newer model lost all of that brittleness in the cymbals, the toms simply were awesome, and the kick drum had become much more pleasant.

All around, the swap was a good experiment and worth the $60 or so. We'll keep the other tubes in case there is a desire for those sounds.

we also have the behringer T1953 vintager series dual channel preamp. Some remarks:

I hate behringer because they feel it necessary to encase everything in glue, epoxies, and plates of metal so that changing anything is a pain in the ass. I'm sorry, but your shit ain't good enough to "secure the secrets of your circuits" behind a security system of glue and metal.

Second, i'm pretty sure the tubes aren't even in the signal chain. They seem to be active only on the "warmth" knob section of the preamp.