Super Twins?

I'd buy one, but only if it was made in Japan, with the sticker located behind the left speaker, between the years or 1987-89, manufactured on a Saturday, by a man named Chen.

Or not.:p

KaBudokan said:
I'd buy one, but only if it was made in Japan, with the sticker located behind the left speaker, between the years or 1987-89, manufactured on a Saturday, by a man named Chen.

Or not.:p

:rolleyes:

I'm a tech and one of the perks of the job is that after I repair an amp I "have" to play through it to test it. It's my opinion that these things aren't even close to a twin. But keep in mind that's just my opinion. I hate Lab Series amps too, but the guitar player from King's X plays through them and I love his tone. I'm sure he's running all kinds of "goo" to get that tone and the amps probably been modified, but that's my 2 cents. My point is that you can probably get some kind of useable tone out of almost any amp if you work at it.

Eh, i'll just get a regular twin. Anybody got one they wanna sell me for a hundred bucks?;) I'll trade ya for my Vox Pathfinder...

FWIW, the "Super Twin" was high up in the ratings in a "The Worst Fender Amp Ever Made?" thread on the FDP.

It was interesting to read about some truly awful Fender early solid-state amps I'd never heard of before.

Eh, i'll just get a regular twin.
For what sort of use do you want it?

I ask, because the current and recent Twin-Amps are really sort of overkill for almost anything short of large-venue gigging and don't lend themselves to lower-volume use, even with the low-power switch.

They're extremely heavy - too heavy for their cabinets - and very loud.

I'm also not really sold on the idea of a 100W combo tube amp. That size amp really needs to be in a separate head running to a real speaker cabinet.