Suggestions on starting from scratch

WesternHaikus1

Hey everybody. First post on these forums, I am totally brand spanking new to the idea of home recording, but I have some done a little bit of reading up on some subjects, so bear with me.

My parents want to get me a gift for Christmas, and I really want to start getting into tinkering with some home recording. Music is my number one hobby, and I would like nothing more than to eventually be able to create decent quality studio pieces somehow. Obviously I don't want to overstep my bounds as a total newbie when it comes to first time gear, but I also don't want to limit myself too much as I've got a pretty good grasp of fundamentals of what makes recorded music pleasing to the ear.

I'm thinking about going the way of starter recording packages found on popular websites like musiciansfriend just to get me started and maybe build off of in the future. I'm trying to decide between two purchase scenarios:

1 - Get an encompassing beginners package - interface w/ an LE DAW of some kind, mics, monitors, cables, stands

2 - Get a package that includes monitors, mics, stands and cables, and then purchase the interface and DAW independently so I don't have to compromise on features quite as much. This option would obviously cost more.

Any suggestions would be helpful! Which scenario you think is better, a totally different approach, or recommending specific packages. I'm open to anything since I'm pretty new at this. Obviously since I don't have experience recording anything, I'm trying to budget pretty well so I don't end up overspending on things I won't have the capabilities to utilize - although I definitely plan on learning and doing as much as possible.

Sorry for incredibly newbish first-time post, but hey, we all gotta start somewhere!

Couple of things to know,

What is your overall budget for the heap.

Are you open to used gear?

Where do you live (roughly). It makes a big difference to prices.