stupid B string...

cybersaga

I'm trying to do some recording, with Sonar 2 and my lovely new guitar... but when I do, I notice that the damn B string stands out more than the others, and it's driving me up the wall... can an eq solve this? if so, what do I set it at... yeah, I'm a beginner at all this... and granted, my sound card ain't the greatest for recording (i.e. SB Live) which may be the problem right there... but does anyone have any suggestions?

I'm assuming it's an electric guitar you're talking about. Are you going direct in some way, or are you miking the guitar amp?

Do you mean every note on the B string? Or just certain ones?

If it's every note, then there's something wrong with your pickups -- the signal balance of the pickups must be whacked. Are the pole pieces movable?

If it's just a couple of pitches, usually this happens because something in the signal chain is resonating with the troublesome pitch or pitches. You might be able to control it with EQ, maybe even fix it in the mix, by cutting at the right frequencies. If you are micing a cabinet. possibly the mic stand, the cabinet, or something else might be resonating. A little trial and error should tell you if that's the case and you can probably do something to reduce or eliminate the resonance.

And while the SB Live might not be the Prince of All Soundcards, it certainly doesn't cause your B-string to be recorded funny...

hehe...
well, it's an electric acoustic, piped through an amp and out the other end into my sound card... I noticed this too with my other guitar when I just miked it... I dunno, it may be my ears or something... but it drives me up the wall...
mostly, it's when I'm strumming that it stands out, but only relatively soft strumming... harder stumming kind of drowns that out...

Have you kept your eyes on the string you use ? Since it's new guitar, then you might need to replace the string.

;)
Jaymz