Studio Projects B1

Dweezil

I've already read some good reviews of this supposedly all purpose "budget" mike, and am about to buy one. I intend to use it with a Mackie dfx6 mixer and Echo Mia soundcard for home recording via computer ,to get some pleasant sounds on acoustic guitar and vocals mainly.
I almost bought a Shure Sm57 as my only mike for all round general recording and was told to buy a condensor mike. Yep, we're talking novice here folks!
If anybody can see any technical or recording catastrophies looming on the horizon as a result of this plan to purchase a B1, I would appreciate advice before I part with my extemely hard earned cash!

I've read the FAQ about mikes and this seems the way to go?

Many thanks,

Dweezil

I for one think you're making the right choice. Especially on the sources you've mentioned.

For the price, anyway. :)

Welcome Dweezil,
If you scan down on this very page, you will find a half dozen threads concerning this vey mic and all of your questions and a lot that you may not have thought about will be answered.

The concensus is that they are the best bang for the buck.

Dweezil said:
I almost bought a Shure Sm57 as my only mike for all round general recording and was told to buy a condensor mike. Yep, we're talking novice here folks!
The SM57 is THE allround all-purpose mic on the market and never a catastrophic choice. Don't take my word for it but the people with decades of experience in the business will tell you that too.
But I'm sure you'll be happy with the B1.

do yourself a favor

put aside $280. spend that on a set of MXL603s ($150 for a matched pair), a new B1 ($80) and a used SM57 ($50). That's $280. Spend your remaining cash on stands and cables.

Between those four mics, you'll have a more than adequate "beginning rig" for recording your acoustic and vocals.