Starting from scratch....somewhat

sessionselect

Ok i'm pretty new to the whole recording spectrum but i want to dive right in and learn as much as i can. I play the drums for my band now, and help out with the live sound. I want to be able to record fairly good demos, and do live recordings also. I have a budget of about $1500. I'm thinking about going the digital workstation route to record. We already have a Mackie cfx20 mixer, and other effects. We currently use about 12 tracks to record. What would be the best thing to buy, to be able to do not only good demos, but live recordings?

Thanks

It's largely a matter of preference. There are some that prefer the simplicity and more stable nature of the standalone workstation, but going the PC route provides much more flexibility. Also, you've already got a good mixer you can use for channel preamps into a multi-input sound card, which would put you one step above most people when they start out.

check out this recent thread for building a good recording PC
https://homerecording.com/bbs/showthread.php?s=&threadid=54541

With the computer, an 8 input sound card (like a C-Port or a Delta 1010 ($400 - $600), and some recording software (prices vary wildly) and you're in business.

Do some searches in this site and you'll find a ton of valuable info.

But how does a pc do at a live show? Would it go through the mixer? Also is it a hassle to take a pc to a show instead of a digital recorder?

Well, if you're planning on doing a lot of live work, maybe you would be better off with a standalone.

You'll probably be using your mixer for the stage, so you'd still need to buy pre's or a different mixer (unless you got a card with built-in pre's like the Aardvark Q-10).

And yes, a computer would kinda suck at a live show. It's not impossible (it's been done), but it'd be a lot more to haul and set up. And, given your budget, it'd be tough to get a good laptop/firewire setup (forget about USB).