Starting an Analog Studio on a Budget...

So, I would like to start an analog studio on a budget. I already have a consumer lever tascam 22-4 4 track 1/4 inch reel to reel recorder, which sounds quite nice to my ears, a Roland Space Echo, spring reverb, some nice Mics, and instruments. I want to know what are the most essential pieces of outboard equipment I should buy. I am not looking to buy a whole lot of decent cheap effects, but rather get a few high quality essentials. What is most important, Pre-Amps, Compressors, EQ, mixing console? I am not new to recording, but I am new to doing it semi pro, and have never looked into outboard gear before.

Now, also consider this. I am into, and want to record pre 1970 style music, and I would like the recordings to have an authentic sound. Im a huge snob when it comes to production, and I want my stuff to sound RIGHT. Therefore, I am interested in pre 1970 equipment also, what are the best, and most essential tools I could use. The only thing I know about are AMPEX preamps, which were used in many famous old studios. I am also willing to upgrade my tape recorder down the line, what is the best one. I hear that the AMPEX consoles are very rock and roll sounding, that is the kinda sound I want. Are there other things I should look out for? How about compressors, are they very important? EQ?

Keep in mind that I am going to be trying to record pre 1970's music, simple, nothing too fancy effects wise (or is it???) Any advice you can give me before I jump into this would be very beneficial to me.

Oh, man, so many questions ....

Here's the deal, right off the bat I'll tell you that good musicians and recording technique is the bulk of what will get you the sound you want or at least closer to it. Don't buy into the hype of gear selection.