Starting a Career in Audio?

Scorge

Hey everyone,

I had no idea where to post this, but considering that I haven't experienced a full-time job as an engineer I'm still a newbie :thumbs up:

I have never explained my idea of life-long career to anyone and asked them to share their opinions on what I want to do with my life, not even to my family... because they don't know the industry and what it entails at all like some of you guys do :)
But after recently reading some forum posts on what it's like to get into the business in this day and age, I figured I'd try and get some opinions tailored to myself as an individual.

This is going to be detailed and personal, but I'll try and keep it focused, so here it goes.

I'm 17 years old and am currently enrolled for 2 years in a post-secondary education involving audio production. Since I was 10 I've been playing electric guitar, bass, and drums. I've been directing/engineering/producing/creating/whatever you want to call it videos and short films since I was 13 and I got into producing audio when I was 15. Before then I've always had an interest in engineering. When I was a kid my dream job was to become a heavy machinery operator or some sort of mechanical engineer... my focus has since shifted after realizing that I don't particularly enjoy math.

Since the day I started doing video/audio I've done a whole slew of different projects starting from making LEGO videos, to tutorials, to music videos, to stop motion videos, to graphic design, to recording/producing myself, my friends, local bands, running my schools morning announcements, live sound, live sound recording, making videos for video competitions, audio-post for short films, photography, composing music for short films, wedding videos, promo videos, and so on.

Essentially I'm interested in nearly every aspect of video/audio multimedia production;