Spray Painting Sound Foam?

elil

I've been messing around with acoustics and soundproofing for about 6 years or so. I've worked on several "studios" over the years, and have finally constructed my final home practice space/recording studio (Airtight room, w/ concrete walls filled w/ sand, decoupled from sheetrock on both sides, and non-reflective s-shaped ventilation = -80db sound reduction!).

This whole time, I've been using the same sheets of sound foam for acoustics and they've gotten a little beat up from all the moves, etc. I've just about tapped out my resources on gear and building materials and I would hate to throw away all of this good working foam; however, I want it to look good too. Does spray painting sound foam reduce it's acoustic properties significantly?

It's very difficult to paint it without clogging up the pores.

Consider making fiberglass panels with fabric covers. Remember the Great White fire? I hate seeing a bunch of that stuff on a wall.

There is a company that covers their panels in cloth, with a bunch of colors available. I will try to find the name for you.

Thank you for your quick replies. Just to clarify, I don't really have the money to invest in new acoustic material. The foam I got was approx 3'x5'x1.5" with this type of pattern:

--- | | --- | |
--- | | --- | |
| | --- | | ---
| | --- | | ---
--- | | --- | |
--- | | --- | |
| | --- | | ---
| | --- | | ---

It cost around $800 when I bought it and does the job great. There are a bunch of chunks missing and some of the grey "paint" has scraped off of the visible surfaces. I was planning on using a grey spray paint to touch up areas where it was missing.

I figured that this wouldn't damage the sound properties too much, but then I got to thinking that I might as well paint them all a different uniform color.