Speaker differences?

Spikeh

So, I'm happily mixing away in my studio on my Mackie HR824's, finally got a mix I was happy with, did a bit of mastering (ran the full track through a multi-band compressor, parametric EQ and maximizer) then wrote it to a CD with Nero...

I've only recently purchased the studio, so I'm new to the room / the quality I'm getting in there.

However, got the CD home and it sounds terrible (in comparison)... the guitars are almost non existant, the bass drum is way too boomy, the vocals are weak and the overall quality is poor... not to mention the track itself is too quiet, even though I maximised it to around 0db...

I wondered if I was forgetting to do something? I think I've got quite good at the old recording tecniques, and not too bad at mixing. Each one of the drum tracks has been gated, most have been compressed individually and various effects applied.

I can't give this mix to the client... I can play it to them in the studio and it'll be ace, but as soon as they get it home it'll be a big let down...

yeah...I'm really good at this too, though I don't have any clients.

Here's some inputs that you may enjoy:

1) after they come back and say it sounds like "ass" at home, you can say "oh? well, I didn't understand you want the DELUXE MIX that can sound good anywhere! that will cost a bit more though...no problem.....$$$$$$... I thought you wanted the "ONLY SOUNDS GOOD IN MY STUDIO MIX?!!..HAHAH..I'm sorry!!! Will you be paying by credit or cash?"

2) play it again in your studio and look at him like "wht the fhk?" Re-emphasize this sounds awesome!! and then tell your client politely, they need to upgrade their room acoustics or home hi-fi. It happens all the time for ametuers.

3) tell the client to buy some Mackie HR824

4) tell the client they need to have their hearing checked because you are a M.Engineer and they aren't.