Soundproofing advice needed for small area

PetSoundsPSU

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting. I need some advice. This fall I will be living alone in a 1 room apartment with people in other apartments all around me. Now I love to make recordings and play out live but I am concerned that I will be too loud when I record and practice, particularly when I sing. My plan was to make a very small little space underneath my bed loft (about 7 feet long, 3-4 feet wide, and 6 feet high) as a place to practice and record my singing. I was wondering what type of materials I would need and what would be the best approach to soundproofing this area so that no other rooms would here me singing my loudest. Is this possible to do? I have been throwing around the idea of constructing a small wall of panels to fit the sides of the space and then putting either blankets or that uneven mattress foam/cushion over the panels. Would I need to cover all 4 sides, so that it would be enclosed or just 3 or say 3 and most of the fourth. Please advise me on what any of you would do. Thanks so much!!!!
-Mark

got your email PetSounds ... I don't know if I'll be of any help ... but here goes...
This seems like very much NOT an ideal situation for recording/practicing. What else are you playing (besides vocals) and how loud do you usually get? If it's guitar/keyboard etc ... go into the board direct and wear headphones. Since this is a one-room apartment, I doubt you have a walk-in closet to sing in (although, that is a great suggestion).
You could build the panels you mention out of plywood or something ... but you'll probably need more mass, make it airtight and isolate it somehow from the surrounding building to get a good enough level of soundproofing.